A Municipal Utility District, or MUD, is a political subdivision authorized by the Texas Commission on Environmental Quality, (TCEQ), to provide water, sewage, drainage and other services within the MUD’s boundaries. The Travis County Municipal Utility District No. 10 focuses on supplying water and treating wastewater. MUDs are tax-collecting entities with a Board of Directors made up of residents, elected by residents.